Black and white photograph of the English Women's crew who won the Women's 4-oared Interstate Championship and the ULVA trophy in Australia in 1938, during their tour of the country.
Part of an archive of objects which belonged to Eleanor Lester (maiden name Gait).
Page from 'Punch, or the London Charivari' magazine, June 29, 1927. With an illustration titled 'Hints for Henley - If you choose to go in a canoe don't upset it just when the crowd is watching the finish of an exciting race. They might well be too distracted to remark your desire to be rescued'.
By J D Armour
This item returned to America with Tom
Black and white negative of a car.
The image depicts the Squire X101 car from the back, with registration JB 5568, beside a metal gate and fence.c1935.
A George Bushell Collection (Part of negative set number 320 in George Bushell's notebook]
George Bushell came to Henley in 1919 and took over the task of taking photographs of Henley and its surroundings from two predecessors, called Marsh and Marshall. Bushell died in the 1960s but his business was carried on by his son and grandson. It is his grandson, also called George Bushell, who has donated this important collection of photographs and glass plate negatives to the Museum. This unique collection provides a fascinating view of the changing face of Henley and the Thames over the last century.
'Lyon's Boat House, Lambeth. 1831'
Colour print of Lyon and Co Boatbuilders yard on the riverbank with a variety of boats being built and complete. There are three boats on the river with people in them and figures in the yard.
Part of the Thomas E. Weil Collection. Thomas E Weil is a very knowledgeable and respected collector of rowing memorabilia from all over the world. His extensive collection includes material from many years of the Oxford and Cambridge University Boat Race, and Henley Royal Regatta. He also lectures and writes on rowing history and is a Trustee of the River and Rowing Museum.
'Cottage from Chalk Cavern at Park Place'
A framed coloured engraving of a view through a stone opening to the top of a building surrounded by trees.
Artist unknown. Published in London January 1st 1791 by A Robertson and W Faden.
Copy of a black & white photograph taken at White Waltham Airfield during the Second World War, of the winch mechanism in an Avro Anson aircraft, labelled "SOE Pick-Up Cable"
Original owned by the Museum of Berkshire Aviation Trust.