Object Detail


Object Name
photograph
Description
Negative of Henley on Thames' Palace Cinema.

This is the only known photograph of the cinema before the Regal. It was established as Henley Picture Palace in June 1911, having been transformed from the Henley roller skating rink. This building was demolished when the later cinema, the Regal, was built in 1937.

A George Bushell Collection (Part of negative set number 48 in George Bushell's notebook).

George Bushell came to Henley in 1919 and took over the task of taking photographs of Henley and its surroundings from two predecessors, called Marsh and Marshall. Bushell died in the 1960s but his business was carried on by his son and grandson. It is his grandson, also called George Bushell, who has donated this important collection of photographs and glass plate negatives to the Museum. This unique collection provides a fascinating view of the changing face of Henley and the Thames over the last century.
Accession No
2003.451.46
Collection
Henley
Associated Person
Associated Date
Circa 1894-1947
Associated Period
19th century
20th century

 Share